The Cockburn School Council is a powerful body that is consulted on many aspects of our school and plays a vital role in our journey – ‘Transformation to Excellence’.

School Council Constitution-2017/18

Aims Of the School Council
The aim of the School council is to provide a forum for the discussion by students’ representatives of issues raised by students or staff which affect the life of the school. The school council allows views to be expressed and heard and creates a further opportunity for effective communication within the school and for appropriate actions to be taken, when necessary.

Student Elections and Representation
In September of each year, each tutor group will elect two representatives, preferably one male and one female. Form tutors will oversee elections and pass on the name of representatives to the Director of Year/Head of Year. The chosen Tutor Group Representatives will attend year team meetings (one per half term) with their HOY/DOY who will then elect two year group representatives (preferably one male and one female) overseen by the HOY/DOY. Once elected, School council members will remain in office for one year and attend one meeting each half term. The Head Boy and Head Girl; Deputy Head Boy and Head Girl and Student Ambassadors will also be represented on the School Council.

Election of Officers
All members of the School Council will be eligible for nomination and election as an officer. Elections will take place at the first meeting of the year. Officers elected will be:

  • Chairperson
  • Vice Chairperson
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer

(Please note, some of these responsibilities can be shared)

Staff and Governor Representation
Meetings of the School Council will be attended by the Directors of Key Stage and a member of the Senior Leadership Team. Other members of staff may be invited to attend individual meetings to assist with the discussion of specific agenda items.

Governors may also nominate a representative to attend School Council meetings.

Communication between Council Representatives and Tutor groups
Before each year group council meeting, the tutor representatives will collect in the “suggestion” book from the form tutor. Suggestions can be made throughout the year and specifically during the week before the year group council meeting. This discussion will be lead by the tutor group representatives and the form tutor. The tutor representatives will take these discussion ideas to the Year Group council meeting and keep minutes of these meetings.

Before each School Council meeting the two year group representatives should meet with their HOY/DOY to agree the minutes from their meeting so that they can be discussed at the meeting of the full School Council.

Timing and Organisation of School Council Meetings
The School Council dates will be published at the beginning of the academic year. A meeting will take place be between the Chairperson and the Head of School at least one week before the Year Council meetings to discuss the agenda. The agenda will be published by the secretary as soon as possible after this meeting. The HOY/DOY will confirm the meeting time/place for the year group council meeting and the Directors of Key Stage will confirm the meeting time/place for the School Council meetings.

The chairperson will be expected to run the meeting to the agreed agenda. Matters brought up at the meeting that are not on the agenda may be scheduled for a future meeting at the discretion of the chair. No individuals, staff or students may be discussed in School council meetings without their permission in writing in advance.

On occasions where a member of the school council cannot attend a meeting, they should organise a suitable replacement to attend on their behalf. Minutes of the meeting should be taken by the secretary during the meeting and presented in draft to the Chairperson and Head of School for approval. Once approved, they should be distributed to the following:

  • Senior Leadership team
  • Head of Year
  • Director of Year
  • Tutor Group Representatives
  • Governor Representative
  • Chair of Governors
  • Staff Representative

Main School Council Reps 2017-18

Year 7

Liviu Tacu
Isabelle Jackson
Fatima Waheed

Year 8

Hannah Begum
Chloe Carter
Keaven Shipley

Year 9

Aimee Bedford
Isabelle Walker
Wesley Nichols

Year 10

Rimah Khan
Rease Caywood
Katie Crawshaw

Year 11

Paddy Hirsh
Caitlin Deacon
Kewell Robinson
Holly Staten
Alan Routledge-Day
Devin Nichols
Rebecca Noble

Roles and Responsibilities 2017-18

Chairperson – Holly Staten
Vice Chairperson – Liviu Tacu
Secretary- Rebecca Noble
Treasurer – Paddy Hirsh

Full School Council Reps 2017-18

Year 7:
7DMC – Kelsey Cameron / Dylan Easton
7KM – Nikos Piasta / Kasey-Leigh Grayson
7ES – Ellis Melvin / Violet Midgely
7NE – Isabelle Jackson / Liam Fenwicj
7ME – Daniel Littlewood / Lola Littlefair
7KH – Ben Adjebeng / Jack Bottomley
7RH – Arisha Hussain / Harley Green-Armitage
7JWI – Liviu Tacu / Fatima Waheed
7ST – Molly Sullivan / Charlie Merritt
7WIH – Hamfaa Hussain / Jack Flanagan

Year 8:
8STA – Charlie Green / Lukas Threlfall
8AJC – Conrad Buckley / Elliot Timblin
8SK – Felix Makinutewa / Evie Gawthorpe
8JI – Connor Baxter / Hannah Begum
8MSE – Chloe Carter / Keshia-Lui Bingham
8TS – Aleena Hashmi / Keavan Shipley
8HMW – Mark Ormsby / Abby Briggs
8REE – Maria Rondon / Maksymilian Piasta
8HCS – TJ Hall / Sophie Linsell

Year 9:
9NLB – CJ Hooton / Kiera Dinsdale
9JB – Ethan Moss / Abigaela Mbala
9AC – Taylor Morell / Isabelle Walker
9RR – Mia Plews / Maryam Zaman
9LJM – Kyle Heath / Nicole Cardiss-Brown
9KS – Elle Hill / Thomas Fryer
9LA – Joe Cook / Summer Boland
9DD – Ameena Khan / Gregory Ward
9MS – George Johnson / Enya Bryant
9RG – Finlay Wilson / Chloe Walsh
9LAC – Wesley Nichols / Levon Thompson

Year 10:
10HC – Rimah Khan Kayleigh Harper
10NB – Rosie Gannon / Max Sage
10SHH – Martin Javier / Jacky Ling
10SH – Ester Pedago / Taissa Da Silva
10LF – Logan Naylor / Cody Armitge
10MG – Carys Boden / Katie Crawshaw
10KHA – Ebony Kitchen / Liam Iredale
10GO – Dylan Robinson Downs / Grace Routledge Day
10KW – James Partridge / Grace Hopkins
10RMJ –Ellie Grindell / Rease Caywood
10JP – Jack Stead / Jacob Hemingway

Year 11:
11RC – Jamie Coates / Aiesha Begum
11RAE – Soutism Goodarzi / Rebecca Noble
11AS – Kuduratu Raufu / Mariama Touray
11MES – Nathasha Ellison / Jack Johnson
11KD – Spencer Austerfield / Kavitha Cronin
11SMO – Shonia Sanneh / Scott Morton
11TN – Jessica Donegan / Jordan Walker
11SR – Sophie Blair / Alan Routledge Day
11RB – Megan Molengo / Holly Staten