Start of Term September 2020:

Monday 7th September: Closed to students, Professional Development Day 1

Tuesday 8th September: Year 7 only arrive at 8:15am

Wednesday 9th September: Year 7 arrive at 8:15am, Year 9 arrive at 9:30am, Year 11 arrive at 10:30am

Thursday 10th September: Year 7 arrive at 8:15am, Year 11 arrive at 8:20am, Year 9 arrive at 8:30am, Year 8 arrive for a 9:30am start and Year 10 arrive for a 10:30am start

From Friday 11th September onwards, all year groups will attend the school at the following staggered arrival and finishing times as stated in this letter http://www.cockburnschool.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Cockburn-Coronavirus-Letter-September-2020-opening-update-24.8.20.pdf.


Dates for Professional Development Days 2020-21

(the school will be closed to students)

PDD1: Monday 7th September 2020
PDD2: Friday 27th November 2020
PDD3: Monday 4th January 2021
PDD4: Monday 26th July 2021
PDD5: Tuesday 27th July 2021

Please note that school will close to students at 12.30pm on Friday 18th December 2020 and Friday 23rd July 2021.


Open Evening for prospective parents/carers of  new Year 7 (2021-22):
Due to COVID-19 guidance, Cockburn Multi-academy Trust secondary schools will be hosting virtual Open Evening experiences for parents and carers considering applying for their child to join Cockburn School, Cockburn John Charles Academy or Cockburn Laurence Calvert Academy Year 7 in September 2021. We will be launching this online during the week commencing 12th October.

New Intake Parent/Carer Evening for parents/carers of  new Year 7 (2021-22):
Thursday 8th July 2021


Guided Destinations Information Presentations for Year 8
To be confirmed


Yr11 Exam Weeks:
To be confirmed


Yr11 Graduation Ceremony and Prom
To be confirmed

Please note that school will close to students at 12.00pm on this day.


Progress Review Evenings 2020-21:
This will be an opportunity to meet Subject Teachers and discuss student progress
(Please note that school will close for all students at 2.45pm as usual on these days)

Year 11
Thursday 5th November
Tuesday 2nd February

Year 10
Thursday 26th November
Wednesday 5th May

Year 9
Thursday 7th January

Year 8
Wednesday 20th January

Year 7
Wednesday 9th December


Summer Holiday 2021:
School Closed – Monday 26th July to Friday 3rd September 2021.


Start of term September 2021:
Academic Year 2021-22 term dates to be confirmed.


School Calendar Academic Year 2020-21

Click to download the Leeds school calendar 2020-2021

As an academy, Cockburn School is responsible for setting our own term dates. We do this so that we are closely in line with the Leeds City Council calendar but there may be some minor differences.